Bringing in the new year: 21 Day Fast

Today marked the beginning of a 21-day fast that I will be doing with my church family. Honestly, the past few days I’ve been trying to prepare myself mentally for what I expect to come, but truth is, there isn’t much preparation needed. At this point, it is solely based on self-control, discipline and willingness to commit to this, and making sure my motives align with what it is that I am really hoping to gain out of this fast and time of prayer. Meal wise, I kind of missed today because as I prepared mentally, I failed to prepare and execute a meal plan for these 21 days, so food wise day 1 has been a bust. Not in the sense that I ate something that I shouldn’t have, but in the sense that I haven’t drank proper amounts of water, and I have yet to eat anything at all today. This isn’t a you can’t eat fast, so in that regard I have dropped the ball somewhat.

I’m looking forward to completing this fast and gaining a greater connection/relationship with God and with my church family as we lean on each other to ensure that none of us fall. The fellowship, the prayer, and the small daily sacrifices are all what will make this that much more beneficial and a great way to bring in the new year. The moments of silent prayer, meditation, and rest will help me to defeat the million thoughts that run through my mind on a daily basis, and may even help me to get back into my writing groove as I have to keep a daily journal. I’m ready for different and ready to get back to me, so I’m making the change starting with ME!

Be Blessed loves and as always, thank you for taking the time to read my blog. You all are greatly appreciated.

Mira

Leave a Reply

