Food.4.Thought

Is it me or are people just crazy?

This guy has been trying to talk to me for some time now, and Saturday while I was volunteering at the soup kitchen, he called me about 5-6 times. I finally texted him back to tell him what I was doing. This idiot still insisted on calling me…Continued to text me asking me all of these random questions and what not. Ugh get a life!! So…When I left the soup kitchen, I finally called to tell him about himself…This fool asks me if I committed a crime? He said the only people that partake in community service are those who have gotten into some kind of trouble. Seriously?!?! Needless to say, I haven’t called him since then. Hopefully, he’ll get the picture and stop calling me.

My friend said that I was overreacting…But no, as a people we just cannot afford to watch our communities perish and have no voice. Just as we expect our police departments, fire departments, and other officials to, we have to protect and serve our communities. I do not have to feed the homeless because I’ve been convicted of a crime…I do it because it’s something that should be done. It’s sad to see small children out on the streets and have nothing. I may not have much, but it’s something. I don’t have to volunteer at battered women shelters, but I do. I don’t have to mentor to young children, so that they can have a better life, but I do. As a part of society, I have a voice. We live in a democratic country, and I refuse to remain in silence. There’s nothing wrong with educating the uneducated or helping those who are less fortunate.

I take pride in what I do, and I am proud to say that I serve my community. In any way, shape, or form I try my best to give back. Sure, I know what it’s like to go without. Hell, I’ve been homeless before. I know what it’s like. I strive to be better, and I want to inspire others to do the same. No, I’m not a multi-millionaire but the four hours I take out of my Saturday morning to feed the homeless isn’t going to kill me or hurt my pockets. The time and effort it takes to mentor a child isn’t hindering me from doing anything that I’d like to do in life. Taking the time to paint a room for children with disabilities doesn’t stop me from enjoying my day. If anything, each act of kindness serves it’s purpose. It doesn’t give me the authority to dictate what you do with your life, but it gives me a better feeling and appreciation of life. I could be in far more worse situations than I have been in, but I am blessed. I see nothing wrong with sharing my blessing with those in need.

Just thought I’d share…

Be Blessed friends =)
TD Moore ♥

Leave a Reply

